If you wished your current "GrandStream" IP phone would work with Dialpad, then...

esdiesel13esdiesel13 Member Posts: 1
It's no secret...dialpad does NOT formally support Grandstream IP phones as they seem to only support Polycom. The only time this ever sucks for someone, like myself recently, is I got a great deal on a GXP2140 from my previous VoIP provider and don't want to throw money away if I could help it. I was stumped for hours...and I am not a novice with networking, voip, etc...although, no genius either. I searched everywhere, far and wide, deep accross the valleys and plains of the "interwebs", but only questions were found...never an answer.

So...my Grandstream is all setup and working perfectly as it should with dialpad right now! I literally joined these forums JUST to share this document....I know someone will certainly appreciate it someday!

Check it out...it's not "perfect" by any means...but it will toss you in the right direction.

Oh...if you try to add a desk phone through the actual dialpad dashboard link called "desk phones"....you're going to run into issues I found out. Go into your user, or user you wish to assign the desk phone, scroll down to devices and add from there. Doing it this way allows a special little link to appear at the end of setup that says "SIP Setup For Older Phones", which is exactly what you need to get SIP login, auth, domain, and password from dialpad to get started. Not sure why, but trying to do the same thing directly from devices tab doesnt show the link.